Fire Official of the Year

Annually since 1989 the GFSA also recognizes the GEORGIA FIRE SPRINKLER OFFICIAL of the Year. This award is presented to the fire official that is a proponent of Automatic Fire Sprinklers and supports and promotes the use thereof. This award is presented at the Annual Life, Fire & Safety Awards Luncheon. The 2020 winner of the award is Glen Cain, Fire Protection Officer, Barrow County Emergency Services. Glen is a Great guy to work with. He is reasonable fire marshal when it comes working with the customers and getting their life safety to code.

 Past Winners:

1989 Raymond Hall – Deputy Georgia State Fire Marshal
1990 Norman Koplon – Director of Atlanta Bureau of Buildings
1991 Jerry Grier – Lieutenant, Cobb County Fire Services
1992 Tommy Morgan – Chief of Rockdale County Fire Department
1993 Dave Chamberlain – City of Atlanta Fire Chief
1994 Lee Stewart – City of Brunswick Fire Chief
1995 Dave Hilton – Georgia State Fire Marshal
1996 George Lanier – City of Rome Fire Department
1997 Jackie Gibbs – City of Marietta Fire Chief
1998 Randy Thompson – City of Atlanta Sprinkler Plan Review
1999 Rufus Tipton – Gwinnett County Fire Department
2000 Dwayne Garriss – Assistant Georgia State Fire Marshal
2001 David M. Wall – City of Morrow Fire Chief
2002 Alan Shuman – Georgia State Fire Marshal
2003 David Morris – City of Alpharetta Fire Marshal
2004 Steve Collins – Gwinnett County Captain Fire Planning
2005 Tony Solis – Cobb County Fire and Emergency Services
2006 Tim Satterfield – Dawson County Emergency Services
2007 David Carter – City of Covington Fire Marshal
2008 Jan Ellison – DeKalb County Fire Protection Engineer
2009 Mike Saade – Georgia State Financing Commission Fire Inspector
2010 Stephen Christian – Plan Review Specialist, City of Atlanta Office of Buildings
2011 Keith Bryant – State Fire Marshal’s Office
2012 James “Jimmy” Crawley of the State Fire Marshal’s Office
2013 Paul Piccirilli, Fire Marshal, City of Roswell
2014 Tim Johnson, City of Loganville
2015 Bobby Stilson, Woodstock Fire Department
2016 Tommy McCullers, Gwinnett County Fire Services
2017 Larry Labbe, Georgia Institute of Technology
2018 Jeff Yoder, Assistant Fire Marshal, Gwinnett County
2019 Captain Robert J. Bennett, Cobb County Deputy Fire Marshal/Plans Review
2020 Glen Cain, Fire Protection Officer, Barrow County Emergency Services